Wien aka Vienna… Mozart… Klimt…

Wandering the streets of Vienna was one of the best experiences of my life. I would just walk on the sidewalk lift up my head and see a great architecture everywhere. The architectural nuances looked so opulent-if-intricate.

Must-see places:

  • Hofburg Palace is used to be the residence of the Hapsburgs. This royal family left a lasting imprint on Austria.
  • Vienna State Opera is an active opera, in fact, it is one of the busiest opera houses in the world. You’ll notice the signs of wear, but it still has a very dignified look to it.
  • St. Stephen’s Cathedral is a Romanesque church with beautiful windows decorated with mosaic.  You have to stop by, peek inside, and spend some time wandering around, as this Viennese-born architectural masterpiece is definitely worth your attention.

Stephansplatz is a square, where you find above-mentioned St. Stephen’s Cathedral, other intriguing buildings, tiny cafes, restaurants, gelaterias, gift shops, etc.

You can kill the whole day just hanging out on Stephansplatz and taking it easy.

For the most part, Viennese speak very good English, but I would memorize this “Entschuldigung sprechen sie englisch?” to be more polite, rather than bombard them with English right away.

I wouldn’t say that I’m a paragon of politeness myself, as at times, I would be walking in the street with my friend, and I would realize that I need to ask someone for directions. The only person I would spot would be on the opposite side of the street, I would just wave at that person and shout across the street “Entschuldigung sprechen sie englisch?” This technique definitely made it impossible to avoid me and it never failed to work.

The gift shops you’ll encounter in Vienna have Gustav Klimt’s “The Kiss” reproduction on nearly everything from mugs to handbags. If you a fan, get yourself one! Also, Mozart is a popular figure. Austrians are very proud of this musical prodigy. You’ll bump into a few guys dressed as Mozarts right in front of St. Stephen’s Cathedral, they’ll try to sell you tickets.

Viennese coffee culture:

Pick a café to your liking, and order a cup of Viennese coffee and choose from a great pastry selection. You’ll get a cup of coffee served with a glass of water. You’re supposed to sip water in-between drinking coffee to bring out the taste of coffee.

Drinking coffee in Vienna is a ritual, so just take your time and sip patiently while reading an international issue of the newspaper or people watching.

The best time to go is in the middle of July. The weather will be quite pleasant, and trust me, you’ll need it with all the walking that has to be done to see all the gorgeous architecture outside.

Danke schon for reading!

20131206-184156.jpg

CIMG9037

20131206-182024.jpg

 

CIMG9076 CIMG9049 CIMG9045

CIMG9126 CIMG9124

 

3 thoughts on “Wien aka Vienna… Mozart… Klimt…

  1. Nice post! I like it, especially about the Coffee culture in Vienna. Despite that in my opinion the Wiener melange is pure Cappuccino 🙂 But still very tasty and my favorite.

Leave a comment